When you send an email, Direct Mail will automatically upload the images in your message to one of our secure web servers. The benefit of this service is that your email will be smaller in size, will send much faster, and won't burden your recipients with large attachments.
If you have included the "web version" or any social sharing links (like forward to a friend, share on Facebook, etc.), then Direct Mail will also upload a web-version of your email, so recipients who have difficulty viewing the message in their email client can see it in their web browser instead.
You can disable both of these services if you like. Here's how:
- Choose Direct Mail > Preferences from the menu bar.
- Click Messages.
- Uncheck "Automatically host images" and/or "Automatically host web version of my emails".
How Dynamic Content Appears in the Web-Version of Your Message
When creating the web-version, Direct Mail will still process dynamic sections, mail-merge tags, and conditional logic in the body of your message, but the "address" they are merged with has no first name, last name, or email address. For details see "How do I personalize my message with mail-merge tags?" or "How do I personalize my message with if/else logic?".